Marvel’s ‘Thunderbolts’ Adds ‘Beef’ Creator Lee Sung Jin As Writer

Where’s the Beef? It’s definitely going to be on the set of Marvel’s Thunderbolts. Beef is the buzzy upcoming series on Netflix that stars Steven Yeun, who recently joined the cast of the Marvel antihero film. Well, he’s now been joined by Beef creator Lee Sun Jing , who takes over as a writer.

Oh, and to connect the dots even further, Thunderbolts director Jake Schreier was also a director on Beef. So this is just a total reunion and this is probably not a coincidence. It’s who ya know and not what ya know.

For Lee, Thunderbolts marks his first writing work on a feature film. He’ll be working on a script originally penned by Eric Pearson (Black Widow), which must’ve needed some punching up.

Thunderbolts centers on a group of previously-seen villains or antiheroes brought together as a team. The film stars Florence Pugh as Yelena Belova, Sebastian Stan as Winter Soldier, David Harbour as Red Guardian, Julia Louis-Dreyfus as Valentina Allegra de Fontaine, Wyatt Russell as U.S. Agent, Hannah John-Kamen as Ghost, and Olga Kurylenko as Taskmaster. The Bear star Ayo Edibiri also has an unknown role, while Harrison Ford is expected to appear as General Thunderbolt Ross. Yeun’s role remains a mystery.

Thunderbolts hits theaters on July 26th 2024.

Travis Hopson
Travis Hopson has been reviewing movies before he even knew there was such a thing. Having grown up on a combination of bad '80s movies, pro wrestling, comic books, and hip-hop, Travis is uniquely positioned to geek out on just about everything under the sun. A vampire who walks during the day and refuses to sleep, Travis is the co-creator and lead writer for Punch Drunk Critics. He is also a contributor to Good Morning Washington, WBAL Morning News, and WETA Around Town. In the five minutes a day he's not working, Travis is also a voice actor, podcaster, and Twitch gamer. Travis is a voting member of the Critics Choice Association (CCA), Washington DC Area Film Critics Association (WAFCA), and Late Night programmer for the Lakefront Film Festival.