Ron Howard’s Newly-Titled ‘Eden’ With Ana De Armas Adds Vanessa Kirby And Sydney Sweeney

Back in May, we learned of Ron Howard’s next film, titled Origin of Species, which was set to star Ana de Armas, Oscar nominee Jude Law, Daisy Edgar-Jones, Oscar winner Alicia Vikander, and Daniel Brühl. But in the months since, there have been some big changes on the survival thriller, starting with a change in title, and an almost entirely new cast.

While Ana de Armas is sticking around for the newly-titled Eden, Edgar-Jones and Vikander are out, and replaced by Vanessa Kirby and Sydney Sweeney. Law and Brühl are sticking around, as well.

The film from Tetris screenwriter Noah Pink tells “a darkly comic tale of murder and survival, set around a group of eclectic characters who abandon civilization for the Galapagos. They are all searching for the answer to that ever-pressing question that plagues us all: what is the meaning of life.”

Kirby is set to star opposite Joaquin Phoenix in Ridley Scott’s Napoleon, while Sweeney will meet cute with Glen Powell in the rom-com Anyone But You.

Production is set to begin in November, and this has all of the makings of another major film for Howard. His last two projects, Hillbilly Elegy and Thirteen Lives, had a lot of awards season buzz but petered out fast. This could be the film that turns things around. [Deadline]

Travis Hopson
Travis Hopson has been reviewing movies before he even knew there was such a thing. Having grown up on a combination of bad '80s movies, pro wrestling, comic books, and hip-hop, Travis is uniquely positioned to geek out on just about everything under the sun. A vampire who walks during the day and refuses to sleep, Travis is the co-creator and lead writer for Punch Drunk Critics. He is also a contributor to Good Morning Washington, WBAL Morning News, and WETA Around Town. In the five minutes a day he's not working, Travis is also a voice actor, podcaster, and Twitch gamer. Travis is a voting member of the Critics Choice Association (CCA), Washington DC Area Film Critics Association (WAFCA), and Late Night programmer for the Lakefront Film Festival.