‘Origin Of Species’: Ana De Armas, Jude Law, Alicia Vikander, & Daniel Brühl Set For Ron Howard’s Survival Thriller

Ron Howard is gathering a star-studded lineup of awards winners and nominees for his next film, Origin of Species. Announced last year, the film will hit the Cannes market with a cast that includes Oscar nominee Ana de Armas, Oscar nominee Jude Law, Oscar winner Alicia Vikander, and Daniel Brühl.

Deadline says the film is based on two different accounts of the same true story, and tells “a darkly comic tale of murder and survival, set around a group of eclectic characters who abandon civilization for the Galapagos. They are all searching for the answer to that ever-pressing question that plagues us all: what is the meaning of life.”

The script is by Noah Pink, who recently penned Apple’s terrific Tetris movie with Taron Egerton.

Filming is expected to kick off late this year in Australia. Howard is coming off the acclaimed but somewhat overlooked Thai rescue thriller, Thirteen Lives. He also has coming up the animated adaptation of The Shrinking of Treehorn, which Netflix acquired from Paramount last year.

De Armas followed her Oscar-nominated turn in Blonde with the Apple action-comedy Ghosted. Law recently played Captain Hook in Disney’s Peter Pan & Wendy, while Vikander has coming up the historical drama Firebrand, and Brühl recently starred in Netflix’s hit war film All Quiet On the Western Front.

Travis Hopson
Travis Hopson has been reviewing movies before he even knew there was such a thing. Having grown up on a combination of bad '80s movies, pro wrestling, comic books, and hip-hop, Travis is uniquely positioned to geek out on just about everything under the sun. A vampire who walks during the day and refuses to sleep, Travis is the co-creator and lead writer for Punch Drunk Critics. He is also a contributor to Good Morning Washington, WBAL Morning News, and WETA Around Town. In the five minutes a day he's not working, Travis is also a voice actor, podcaster, and Twitch gamer. Travis is a voting member of the Critics Choice Association (CCA), Washington DC Area Film Critics Association (WAFCA), and Late Night programmer for the Lakefront Film Festival.