2023 Independent Spirit Awards: ‘Everything Everywhere All At Once’ Continues Its Dominant Streak With Seven Wins

Santa Monica and tonight’s Independent Spirit Awards was the home for Everything Everywhere All At Once‘s commanding march to the Oscars. The multiversal family saga won seven Indie Spirit Awards, including Best Feature, Best Director and Best Screenplay for Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert aka The Daniels, Best Editing, Best Lead Performance for Michelle Yeoh, Best Supporting Performance for Ke Huy Quan, and Best Breakthrough Performance for Stephanie Hsu. Following last week’s SAG and PGA Awards dominance, A24’s film is looking like as close to a sure thing as possible.

The full list of winners is below!

Best Feature
“Everything Everywhere All At Once” – WINNER
“Bones and All”
“Our Father, the Devil”
“Women Talking”

Best First Feature
“Aftersun” – WINNER
“Emily the Criminal”
“The Inspection”
“Palm Trees and Power Lines”

Best Director
Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert, “Everything Everywhere All At Once” – WINNER
Todd Field, “TÁR”
Kogonada, “After Yang”
Sarah Polley, “Women Talking”
Halina Reijn, “Bodies Bodies Bodies”

Best Screenplay
Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert, “Everything Everywhere All At Once” – WINNER
Lena Dunham, “Catherine Called Birdy”
Todd Field, “TÁR”
Kogonada, “After Yang”
Sarah Polley, “Women Talking”

Best First Screenplay
John Patton Ford, “Emily the Criminal” – WINNER
Joel Kim Booster, “Fire Island”
Jamie Dack, Audrey Findlay, Story by Jamie Dack, “Palm Trees and Power Lines”
K.D. Dávila, “Emergency”
Sarah DeLappe, Story by Kristen Roupenian, “Bodies Bodies Bodies”

Best Lead Performance
Michelle Yeoh, “Everything Everywhere All At Once” – WINNER
Cate Blanchett, “TÁR”
Dale Dickey, “A Love Song”
Mia Goth, “Pearl”
Regina Hall, “Honk for Jesus. Save Your Soul.”
Paul Mescal, “Aftersun”
Aubrey Plaza, “Emily the Criminal”
Jeremy Pope, “The Inspection”
Andrea Riseborough, “To Leslie”
Taylor Russell, “Bones and All”

Best Supporting Performance
Ke Huy Quan, “Everything Everywhere All At Once” – WINNER
Jamie Lee Curtis, “Everything Everywhere All At Once”
Brian Tyree Henry, “Causeway”
Nina Hoss, “TÁR”
Brian d’Arcy James, “The Cathedral”
Trevante Rhodes, “Bruiser”
Theo Rossi, “Emily the Criminal”
Mark Rylance, “Bones and All”
Jonathan Tucker, “Palm Trees and Power Lines”
Gabrielle Union, “The Inspection”

Best Breakthrough Performance
Stephanie Hsu, “Everything Everywhere All At Once” – WINNER
Frankie Corio, “Aftersun”
Gracija Filipović, “Murina”
Lily McInerny, “Palm Trees and Power Lines”
Daniel Zolghadri, “Funny Pages”

Best Cinematography
Florian Hoffmeister, “TÁR” – WINNER
Hélène Louvart, “Murina”
Gregory Oke, “Aftersun”
Eliot Rockett, “Pearl”
Anisia Uzeyman, “Neptune Frost”

Best Editing
Paul Rogers, “Everything Everywhere All At Once” – WINNER
Ricky D’Ambrose, “The Cathedral”
Dean Fleischer Camp and Nick Paley, “Marcel the Shell with Shoes On”
Blair McClendon, “Aftersun”
Monika Willi, “TÁR”

Best International Film
“Joyland” (Pakistan/USA) – WINNER
“Corsage” (Austria/Luxembourg/France/Belgium/Italy/England)
“Leonor Will Never Die” (Philippines)
“Return to Seoul” (South Korea/France/Belgium/Romania)
“Saint Omer” (France)

Best Documentary
“All the Beauty and the Bloodshed” – WINNER
“All That Breathes”
“A House Made of Splinters”
“Riotsville, U.S.A.”

John Cassavetes Award
“The Cathedral” – WINNER
“The African Desperate”
“A Love Song”
“Holy Emy”
“Something in the Dirt”

Robert Altman Award
“Women Talking” – WINNER
Director: Sarah Polley
Casting Directors: John Buchan, Jason Knight
Ensemble Cast: Shayla Brown, Jessie Buckley, Claire Foy, Kira Guloien, Kate Hallett, Judith Ivey, Rooney Mara, Sheila McCarthy, Frances McDormand, Michelle McLeod, Liv McNeil, Ben Whishaw, August Winter

Producers Awards
Tory Lenosky – WINNER
Liz Cardenas
David Grove Churchill Viste

Someone to Watch Award
Nikyatu Jusu, “Nanny” – WINNER
Adamma Ebo, “Honk for Jesus. Save Your Soul.”
Araceli Lemos, “Holy Emy”

Truer Than Fiction Award
Reid Davenport, “I Didn’t See You There” – WINNER
Isabel Castro, “Mija”
Rebeca Huntt, “Beba”

Best New Scripted Series
“The Bear” – WINNER
“The Porter”
“Catherine Pinkney, Devin Griffin”
“Station Eleven”

Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series
“The Rehearsal” – WINNER
“Children of the Underground”
“Mind Over Murder”
“Pepsi, Where’s My Jet?”
“We Need to Talk About Cosby”

Best Lead Performance in a New Scripted Series
Quinta Brunson, “Abbott Elementary” – WINNER
Aml Ameen, “The Porter”
Mohammed Amer, “Mo”
Bridget Everett, “Somebody Somewhere”
KaMillion, “Rap Sh!t”
Melanie Lynskey, “Yellowjackets”
Himesh Patel, “Station Eleven”
Sue Ann Pien, “As We See It”
Adam Scott, “Severance”
Ben Whishaw, “This is Going to Hurt”

Best Supporting Performance in a New Scripted Series
Ayo Edebiri, “The Bear” – WINNER
Danielle Deadwyler, “Station Eleven”
Jeff Hiller, “Somebody Somewhere”
Gbemisola Ikumelo, “A League of Their Own”
Janelle James, “Abbott Elementary”
Ebon Moss-Bachrach, “The Bear”
Frankie Quiñones, “This Fool”
Sheryl Lee Ralph, “Abbott Elementary”
Molly Shannon, “I Love That For You”
Tramell Tillman, “Severance”

Best Ensemble Cast in a Scripted Series
“Pachinko” – WINNER
Ensemble Cast: Soji Arai, Jin Ha, Inji Jeong, Minha Kim, Kaho Minami, Lee Minho, Steve Sanghyun Noh, Anna Sawai, Jimmi Simpson, Yuh-jung Youn

Travis Hopson
Travis Hopson has been reviewing movies before he even knew there was such a thing. Having grown up on a combination of bad '80s movies, pro wrestling, comic books, and hip-hop, Travis is uniquely positioned to geek out on just about everything under the sun. A vampire who walks during the day and refuses to sleep, Travis is the co-creator and lead writer for Punch Drunk Critics. He is also a contributor to Good Morning Washington, WBAL Morning News, and WETA Around Town. In the five minutes a day he's not working, Travis is also a voice actor, podcaster, and Twitch gamer. Travis is a voting member of the Critics Choice Association (CCA), Washington DC Area Film Critics Association (WAFCA), and Late Night programmer for the Lakefront Film Festival.