DC Film Critics Name ‘Everything Everywhere All At Once’ Best Movie Of The Year

The Washington DC Area Film Critics Association has announced the winners of the 2022 WAFCA Awards. Leading the pack with four honors was the genre-bending, life-affirming Everything Everywhere All At Once, which won Best Film, Best Director for the duo known as The Daniels, Best Original Screenplay, and Best Supporting Actor for Ke Huy Quan .

Martin McDonagh’s darkly comic story of broken friendship, The Banshees of Inisherin, earned Best Actor for Colin Farrell’s lead performance, plus Best Supporting Actress for Kerry Condon.

Rian Johnson’s hit sequel Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery won for Best Acting Ensemble, while Gabriel LaBelle won Best Youth Performance for playing a young aspiring filmmaker in Steven Spielberg’s The Fabelmans. In a very competitive race, Jenny Slate won Best Voice Performance for her role in the charming Marcel the Shell with Shoes On. Tom Cruise and Joseph Kosinski’s Top Gun: Maverick was also well represented with two big wins, one for Best Cinematography and Claudio Miranda’s incredible work on those aerial scenes, and another in the Best Film Editing field.  In another very competitive race, Guillermo Del Toro’s Pinocchio won Best Animated Feature, a potential sign of things to come.

The complete list of winners is below. For more on WAFCA and The WAFCA Awards, simply go here!


Best Film:
Everything Everywhere All At Once

Best Director:
Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert (Everything Everywhere All At Once)

Best Actor:
Colin Farrell (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Best Actress:
Cate Blanchett (TÁR)

Best Supporting Actor:
Ke Huy Quan (Everything Everywhere All At Once)

Best Supporting Actress:
Kerry Condon (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Best Acting Ensemble:
Glass Onion

Best Youth Performance:
Gabriel LaBelle (The Fabelmans)

Best Voice Performance:
Jenny Slate (Marcel the Shell with Shoes On)

Best Motion Capture Performance:
Zoe Saldaña (Avatar: The Way of Water)

Best Original Screenplay:
Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert (Everything Everywhere All At Once)

Best Adapted Screenplay:
Rian Johnson (Glass Onion)

Best Animated Feature:
Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio

Best Documentary:
Good Night Oppy

Best International/Foreign Language Film:
Decision to Leave

Best Production Design:
Hannah Beachler, Production Designer; Lisa Sessions Morgan, Set Decorator (Black Panther: Wakanda Forever)

Best Cinematography:
Claudio Miranda, ASC (Top Gun: Maverick)

Best Editing:
Eddie Hamilton, ACE (Top Gun: Maverick)

Best Original Score:
Michael Giacchino (The Batman)

Travis Hopson
Travis Hopson has been reviewing movies before he even knew there was such a thing. Having grown up on a combination of bad '80s movies, pro wrestling, comic books, and hip-hop, Travis is uniquely positioned to geek out on just about everything under the sun. A vampire who walks during the day and refuses to sleep, Travis is the co-creator and lead writer for Punch Drunk Critics. He is also a contributor to Good Morning Washington, WBAL Morning News, and WETA Around Town. In the five minutes a day he's not working, Travis is also a voice actor, podcaster, and Twitch gamer. Travis is a voting member of the Critics Choice Association (CCA), Washington DC Area Film Critics Association (WAFCA), and Late Night programmer for the Lakefront Film Festival.