‘The Menu’ Trailer Has Ralph Fiennes Serving Up A Nightmarish Meal To Anya Taylor-Joy

Anya Taylor-Joy and Nicholas Hoult are in for a nightmarish meal in The Menu. The dark comedy by Mark Mylod (Succession) follows a young couple who are invited to dine at the most exclusive restaurant on an island, served by the renowned Chef Slowik, played by Ralph Fiennes, who has a very special meal in mind.

The trailer teases a comedy about the whole foodie culture, where everybody seems to think of themselves as a food critic. Hoult’s character Tyler is one of these people, and he’s overly excited about dining with Chef Slowik, while Taylor-Joy’s Margot has no interest in this snobby affair.  We also get a look at Slowik and his rigorous food preparation process, but also his…well, dangerous approach to the clientele.

“I need to know if you’re with us, or with them”, Slowik says ominously to Margot at one point.

Also in the cast are Hong Chau, Janet McTeer, Judith Light, Reed Birney, Paul Adelstein, Aimee Carrero, Arturo Castto, Mart St. Cyr, Rob Yan, and John Leguizamo. The script is by The Onion writers Seth Reiss and Will Tracy, so expect big laughs. This one’s come a long way, having originally been a film for Fiennes and Emma Stone with Alexander Payne directing.

The Menu opens in theaters on November 18th.


Travis Hopson has been reviewing movies before he even knew there was such a thing. Having grown up on a combination of bad '80s movies, pro wrestling, comic books, and hip-hop, Travis is uniquely positioned to geek out on just about everything under the sun. A vampire who walks during the day and refuses to sleep, Travis is the co-creator and lead writer for Punch Drunk Critics. He is also a contributor to Good Morning Washington, WBAL Morning News, and WETA Around Town. In the five minutes a day he's not working, Travis is also a voice actor, podcaster, and Twitch gamer. Travis is a voting member of the Critics Choice Association (CCA), Washington DC Area Film Critics Association (WAFCA), and Late Night programmer for the Lakefront Film Festival.